PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] URGENT Installing Windows XP over Ubuntu 10.10

DavidOfLondon
September 10th, 2011, 03:26 PM
Hi guys,

I desperately need your help.

I'm a doctor working on an aid mission in Kenya for the British Red Cross and I have a ton of stuff I need windows for and it's now affecting my work that I can't wipe Ubuntu and do a XP reinstall followed by Ubuntu dual boot install.

I desperately need someone to just tell me what to do and not ask a million questions - I can't access patient's files because the software the fiiles are stored in will not work with Wine at all. It's serious stuff.

I have Ubuntu 10.10 installed, I love it, it's great, I've used it for 18 months now.

I made the fatal error of totally wiping Windows XP from my laptop and then installing Ubuntu when I actually need Windows to run lots of other software (Wine is not a perfect fix).

I created an ISO of Windows XP Service Pack 3 and created a bootable USB using Unetbootin. But it's as useless as the CD was. When I plug the thing in and reboot all I get is an option to choose "Default" followed by a 10 second timer which just resets.

I've spent days scrambling around the internet on this and I'm amazed at how difficult it is to find an answer. I just want to wipe the machine and re-install Windows, it really is that simple a request.

I have an install CD and (seemingly) now a dodgy XP USB bootable, yet STILL I can't get either to do anything. I'm usually quite proficient at this stuff but I just don't have a clue where to start. I basically want to have a dual boot on my machine - XP and Ubuntu 10.10. Obviously I have to get Windows on first.

PLEASE, someone tell me what the hell is going wrong. The USB just won't boot and the disk, obviously, is an exe operable so that just gets a "this archive" blah blah message.

I'm a doctor working on an aid mission in Kenya for the British Red Cross and I have a ton of stuff I need windows for and it's now affecting my work.