PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here wanting to learn way around shell

Bandanna
September 9th, 2011, 06:49 PM
First of all, sorry if this is the complete wrong place to post this, but it seems to be the catch-all area so I feel safe.

Background: I started playing around with ubuntu intermittently starting about 3 years ago when I was a sophomore in highschool.
I really had no idea what I was doing, but it was at this point in my life when I realized I had a strong interest in electronics. I stumbled upon ubuntu (looking for "cool desktop wallpapers" I do believe :p) and then this alien-like operating system essentially consumed me for a couple of weeks. It took quite a while, but I managed to get a dual-booted system and then I enabled compiz, customized my own 'cube', and let me tell you, I was in heaven. lol
But the flames of passion extinguished quickly, I began to feel like it was "too much trouble" to just do things like install flash because the OS was so incredibly foreign to me. Packages, gnomes and synaptics? To be honest I was intimidated.
Too make a long story short... Now that I am a few years older, I actually know how to research things correctly, and am a bit more focused, I figured I would start learning my way around the shell.

I remember that in the past this community had been so receiving of me. I come here now not only to ask for some help, but also just to display to the public that I am setting a few goals to better myself.

For now my goal is to learn the shell, then after some time I think I am going to start working on getting python down.

I have had a few weeks worth of exposure to C, C++ and programming in general. I learned about IDE's, object oriented languages, interpreted languages, libraries, functions, loops, etc. I am not a complete novice,I have had some exposure, I am just looking for more at this point.

This brings me to what I actually wanted to ask from you all.