PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu on External USB HD

dbkats
September 9th, 2011, 05:43 PM
Hi!

I'm very new to Linux, but I liked it so much I wanted to install it on my external USB HD.

I followed some instructions that I found here (http://www.ubuntugeek.com/a-much-easier-way-to-install-ubuntu-on-a-usb-device-stick-or-hd.html). I got stuck, though, after deleting all partitions on my HD.

My HD now consists of about 1.36 TB of free space. I am running Ubuntu from a live CD and see this through GParted partition editor. I see the same thing under "install Ubuntu". The disk is recognized under /dev/sdb.

What I wanted to do was to create one (or several) partitions for Linux to live on, and another partition for my data. That way, if I want to NOT boot from Linux, I can access all my files (like movies). However, I am not sure how to partition my disk in order to do so.

When I select "/dev/sdb" and click on "Install Now", I get an error message:
"no root file system is defined. Please correct this from the partitioning menu".
I guess this means I have to partition it prior to install. Can you guys help?

YesWeCan
September 9th, 2011, 08:59 PM
Hi and welcome.

It is quite easy to do. A little hard to explain in text like this.

This data partition...do you want to access it with Windows? If so, it needs to be formatted as NTFS and not the usual linux format called ext4.

I just booted the 11.04 live CD and found it doesn't offer me the option to make an NTFS primary partition, which is garbage! So you'll need to use GParted instead. Which is a better tool anyway.

Easy tutorial here: http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/gparted.html

Using GParted first make a primary partition for your shared data and make it NTFS format.