PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu installation problem inside windows

satyapramodh
September 8th, 2011, 04:18 AM
Hi,
I am a newbie.. i want to install ubuntu11.04 along side windows7. I already have 4 local disks in windows.. i created one more for ubuntu..
Now when i go to the installation (after inserting cd and checking alongside/inside windows option) i find that it displaces only 2 partitions... 1 is the windows OS and the other is all the rest of my partitions(local disks) in one.... now i dont know how to make ubuntu install on the new local disk of 20gb i created in windows.. can anyone please help me in detail/step by step?

http://i52.tinypic.com/2rr3rk4.png

nipunshakya
September 8th, 2011, 05:58 AM
Hi,
I am a newbie.. i want to install ubuntu11.04 along side windows7. I already have 4 local disks in windows.. i created one more for ubuntu..

Thats where you were left behind buddy...windows allows only 4 primary partitions in your HDD.
Here's my suggestion: -

1. First backup your data from the drives(all xcept c: ofcourse).
2. Format the extra primary partitions and merge it to just two(one with c: and next say d: as your partition for ubuntu installation)
3. Reboot your pc to windows once to let it configure your fresh partitions and installations...
4. Reboot again , this time from your ubuntu installation cd...
5. When you get to selecting partitions(as your image description), select the drive with free space....
rest is given in the tutorial below....goodluck .

http://members.iinet.net.au/%7Eherman546/p23.html . . .go through this once....you might not need my abouve suggestions:p

And yes, welcome to the furum):P

Regards, WinuxUser

nipunshakya
September 8th, 2011, 05:59 AM
If you are interested, you can also see this solved thread i satrted which looks similar to u

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1838067

ottosykora
September 8th, 2011, 06:19 AM
>I already have 4 local disks in windows.. i created one more for ubuntu..<