PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Please help me!! Compiz CCSM screw up...

SMOKEY989
September 7th, 2011, 10:07 PM
Ubuntu 11.04

Hi

It seems i have completely screwed up Ubuntu mode 'Ubuntu', though classic mode seems to be fine. Basically I've installed Compiz advanced (CCSM) changed settings and completely lost track of what I have done. Stupidly in the process of trying to uninstall CCSM I got rid of unity 3.8.16ubuntu~natty1. Ive tried reinstalling unity CCSM but hasn't worked. The attached image gives you an idea what the problem is, it looks like the desktop has been stretched and zoomed, its really frustrating.

As you can probably tell I am new to Linux UBuntu so any help will be really appreciated.

thanks.

ajgreeny
September 7th, 2011, 10:38 PM
In terminal run the command
gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/compiz followed by
unity --reset then finally
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop to get everything back that may have been uninstalled.

SMOKEY989
September 7th, 2011, 11:32 PM
Ajgreeny thanks for your suggestions, unfortunately the weird screen error is still there.

Here's the output code from each of your suggestions! (i ran a second time as i forgot to copy the code first time round).

gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/compiz
No output

unity --reset

david@david-VGN-NW20EF-S:~$ unity --reset
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/unity", line 198, in <module>
reset_unity_compiz_profile ()
File "/usr/bin/unity", line 83, in reset_unity_compiz_profile
if current_profile_gconfvalue.get_string() == 'unity':
AttributeError: 'str' object has no attribute 'get_string'

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

david@david-VGN-NW20EF-S:~$ sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
[sudo] password for david:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
ubuntu-desktop is already the newest version.
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required: