PDA

View Full Version : Diablo 3 Beta Client



8Kuula
September 7th, 2011, 09:50 AM
Do not look promissing.

Tried that D3 Beta client installer.

First it did not go forward on "Updating setup files..." until I did kill Agent.exe process.

Blizzard Launcher did start, and stops on "Installing..." without going forward.
Agent.exe is up again so I think that Agent.exe has something to do with communicating to server. If Agent.exe is killed then launcher crys about communication error.

I used VirtualBox to get installer download files.

Now even when starting Diablo III.exe directly it still starts that Agent.exe. So can't get pass that.

Launcher stops on "Updating tools 100%" and console spams

fixme:process:GetLogicalProcessorInformation (0x1afe3dc,0x1afe3d8): stub

Wine v1.3.26
OS: Ubuntu 10.04.3
Beta Client Installer: http://www.diablofans.com/topic/28060-diablo-iii-beta-client-leaks/

tkmn
September 7th, 2011, 03:21 PM
I had no problems with the installation part. Already configured for Starcraft 2.

I think this fix is for the Installer:

To get the updater working you need to install ie6 via winetricks:

winetricks ie6

OR set the override for "mshtml" to "native" in winecfg

When I try to run the game it complains about unsupported graphics card. I have a Radeon HD 5750. However it did start once for unknown reasons. Menu working fine just like SC2 but when I tried to log in it crashed.

8Kuula
September 7th, 2011, 04:00 PM
winetrics ie6: error 404: not found.

so tried
winetricks ie7, ended up with box "internet explorer 7 is not supported on this operating system."

still ends up on "fixme:process:GetLogicalProcessorInformation (0x1afe3dc,0x1afe3d8): stub" spam

override method was no go either.

SC2 works on default prefix (atleast for me), and used same prefix these tests.

8Kuula
September 8th, 2011, 06:38 PM
Yee, beta client started up!

Used virtualbox again to get client patched to v0.3.0.7318 Beta.
After that it did startup with wine v1.3.26.

Looks alot more promissing now :)

Launcher did not detect my graphics card right thou says I have nVidia GTX 280, I have GTX 285, and sound do not work, asuming login screen has atleast some music.

No idea do actual game work, just up to login screen.

alphasoup
April 21st, 2012, 05:37 AM
Today: the weekend of Diablo 3 free beta trial, greate but
there is just one patch missing to get this working with latest wine:
http://source.winehq.org/patches/data/85573
Here are the steps I followed on Ubuntu 11.10, you must build the
latest git source today with the one patch missing else the
installer will not be able to load and install the gaime :(

This verifies that only this one patch is needed for Diablo 3 free beta
to work on Ubuntu 11.10 latest release (today).

# 1) Setup a directories to build git wine software

$ sudo mkdir -p /opt/local/src

$ cd /opt/local/src

# 2) Give yourself access to this dir
$ sudo chown yourlogin:yourlogin /opt/local/src

# 3) Get the latest source from winehq (currently 1.5) and go to that dir
$ git clone git://source.winehq.org/git/wine.git /opt/local/src/wine-git

$ cd wine-git
/opt/local/src/wine-git

# 4) Figure out all the packages you will need to build wine form source
# See how to install wine "The Ubuntu Way"
# http://wiki.winehq.org/WineOn64bit#head-245e8f90708da8070a4f3cbe336254c712af07e2

# If you don't have it already:
$ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-wine/ppa

# Then get the require packages (not wine1.5!)
$ sudo apt-get build-dep wine1.5
...
Selecting previously deselected package gcc-4.5-base.
...
(for me this installed 40 new packages)

# 5) Get and apply [somehow] the one patch still required to wine1.5 git:
http://source.winehq.org/patches/data/85573
# the patch changes a couple of lines in these 2 files:
# dlls/ws2_32/socket.c
# server/async.c
# I apply the code change manually as I did not find the actual patch file source anywhere :(
# perhaps just cutting last portion of the email give syou a bug.patch file that can be patched...

# 6) Configure the patched wine (note the prefix option!):
$ ./configure --prefix=/opt/local

# 7) Make the patched wine1.5 git (this can take over 1 hour), then install it if successful:
$ make

$ sudo make install

# Note: thanks to prefix this patch build will not overwrite
# your existing installation of wine in /usr/bin
# this will put the latest patched version of wine in /opt/local/bin

# 8) Download the client from blizzard.net for Diablo II beta (now) it goes into: $HOME/Downloads/Diablo-III-Beta-enUS-Setup.exe

# 9) Start the install via YOUR NEW PATCHED WINE 1.5 (this is on 1 line):

$ env WINEPREFIX="$HOME/.wine" /opt/local/bin/wine $HOME/Downloads/Diablo-III-Beta-enUS-Setup.exe

# This will prompt you to wine intall Gecko, go ahead
# then the setup program will start installing the game
# worked first time after that, no config issue, no restart required
# (note could not adjust the graphics setting from the game, that quit,
# everything else worked so far for several hours...)

You still have time to do the above (about 2-3 hours depending on your connection speed)
Enjoy the game :)

plo_dev
April 21st, 2012, 12:19 PM
Today: the weekend of Diablo 3 free beta trial, greate but
.....

You still have time to do the above (about 2-3 hours depending on your connection speed)
Enjoy the game :)

It works for me! Big thanks to you!

gameame
April 21st, 2012, 12:47 PM
After:



# If you don't have it already:
$ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-wine/ppa


You should add:

$ sudo apt-get update

Eriad
April 22nd, 2012, 01:50 AM
# 5) Get and apply [somehow] the one patch still required to wine1.5 git:
http://source.winehq.org/patches/data/85573
# the patch changes a couple of lines in these 2 files:
# dlls/ws2_32/socket.c
# server/async.c
# I apply the code change manually as I did not find the actual patch file source anywhere :(
# perhaps just cutting last portion of the email give syou a bug.patch file that can be patched...


Could you give a mini tutorial about what needs to be done with the patch. Or is it as simple as finding where a lump of the code is and just pasting it over where it was?

After reading it a bit can someone confirm that all I need to do is delete the lines marked with a '-' and add the lines with a '+'

subdee
April 22nd, 2012, 08:08 AM
If you are on 12.04, there's no chance to build wine from source unless you have tons of patience.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/wine1.4/+bug/944321/comments/8