PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help installing Symantec AV

Jasmitchera
September 7th, 2011, 08:30 AM
Hi.. I Am Triyng To Install Symantec AV On One Of My Machine(ubuntu 11)..
But I Am Getting Dis Error..

make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38-8-generic'
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `linux'. Stop.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38-8-generic'
make: *** [custom] Error 2

How Can I Fix This Error.. i am new to linux..

coffeecat
September 7th, 2011, 09:54 AM
Let's start here:

I Am Triyng To Install Symantec AV On One Of My Machine(ubuntu 11)..

<snip>

i am new to linux..

Since you are new to Linux you may not be aware that you probably don't need AV software. If you are running a mail server you should use AV software so as not to be forwarding Windows viruses, but an ordinary desktop user doesn't need AV software. There are no Linux viruses known to be in the wild at present.

Have a look at this link. In particular scroll down to the section headed, "The Windows Mindset... Viruses..."

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=510812

Jasmitchera
September 7th, 2011, 10:33 AM
Hi.. I Am Triyng To Install Symantec AV On One Of My Machine(ubuntu 11)..
But I Am Getting Dis Error..

make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38-8-generic'
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `linux'. Stop.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38-8-generic'
make: *** [custom] Error 2

How Can I Fix This Error.. i am new to linux..

Jasmitchera
September 7th, 2011, 11:35 AM
Hi,

ys i know about that, but acoording to our company policy every machine should have AV installed on it. so that is why i am doing installation of AV on it..

So help me in solving this issue.

coffeecat
September 7th, 2011, 11:49 AM