PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Cannot boot after trying to upgrade Ubuntu

heatdav
September 6th, 2011, 09:46 PM
Hi. I recently tried to upgrade my Hardy Heron version of Ubuntu. The upgrade seemed to be going ok, but as soon as my computer restarted, it will no longer boot. I get as far as the boot loader and I get the text below, at which point the computer freezes (I can't type anything).

I have been led to believe that this is a problem with "the boot loader pointing to the wrong kernel" or something like that, and other people seem to have had this same problem, but I am a complete newbie to all but the most basic functionality of linux, so have been completely unable to follow their instructions to fix it. Please help and can you make any instructions super-simple as I really won't follow any linux terminology!

Starting up ...
Uncompessing Linux... Ok, booting the kernel.
mount: mounting none on /dev failed: No such device
udevd[505]: error getting socket: Invalid argument

error initializing netlink socket
udevd[505]: error initializing netlink socket

libudev: udev_monitor_new_from_netlink: error getting socket: Invalid argument
Segmentation fault
Gave up waiting for root device. Common problems:
- Boot args (cat /proc/cmdline)
- Check rootdelay= (did the system wait long enough?)
- Check root= (did the system wait for the right device?)
- Missing modules (cat /proc/modules; ls /dev)
ALERT! /dev/sda1 does not exist. Dropping to a shell!

BusyBox v1.13.3 (Ubuntu 1:1.13.3-1ubuntu11) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

(initramfs)

MAFoElffen
September 7th, 2011, 01:44 AM
Hi. I recently tried to upgrade my Hardy Heron version of Ubuntu. The upgrade seemed to be going ok, but as soon as my computer restarted, it will no longer boot. I get as far as the boot loader and I get the text below, at which point the computer freezes (I can't type anything).