PDA

View Full Version : help with some basic python

Beauxesprits13
September 5th, 2011, 10:23 AM
i'm relatively new to python and haven't fully got the hang of it yet. below is a function from some code that I have been writing. however I am snagged on a problem that Ii can't fathom a remedy for and was hoping someone could guide me as to how i might negate the issue.
the context of this code is a calculator of % frequency of some values. "distro" is a large dictionary of integers and their frequencies.

However the output insists that the "data" object i created was a NoneType.
what is a noneType? why is there one here? can i get around them?

def print_stats(distro):
L = distro['total']
del distro['total']
data = [(v, k) for k, v in distro.items()]
data = sorted(data)
data = data.reverse()
data = data[:10] # This returns nonetype is not subscriptable

names=[]; numbers=[]
for k, v in data: # This returns nonetype is not iterable
names.append(str(int(v)).center(8))
numbers.append(k)

for x in range(len(numbers)):
z = (numbers[x]/L)*100
z = str(round(z, 2))
z = z +"%"
numbers[x] = z.center(7)thankyou for any help :P

nvteighen
September 5th, 2011, 12:09 PM
def print_stats(distro):
L = distro['total']
del distro['total']
data = [(v, k) for k, v in distro.items()]
data = sorted(data)
data = data.reverse()
data = data[:10] # This returns nonetype is not subscriptable

names=[]; numbers=[]
for k, v in data: # This returns nonetype is not iterable
names.append(str(int(v)).center(8))
numbers.append(k)

for x in range(len(numbers)):
z = (numbers[x]/L)*100
z = str(round(z, 2))
z = z +"%"
numbers[x] = z.center(7)

The problem is this line:

data = data.reverse()

The reverse method works "in place" or "destructively", meaning that it actually modifies the original list forever. This makes it unnecessary to return the reversed list, because data itself is the reversed list.

<rant>