PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Jaunty runs flawlessy; subsequent upgrades all freeze

techiewannabe
September 4th, 2011, 02:37 AM
I've been using Jaunty for a couple of years. It has worked flawlessly for me. Whenever I have tried to upgrade to a newer version of Ubuntu, my system randomly freezes. It cannot be restored without rebooting the computer. (I have tried 9.10 and 10.04)

Currently, I have 10.04 on a separate partition of the same computer that is using Jaunty. Without fail, it will freeze up and require a reboot. Sometimes it will go for 20 minutes; sometimes for an hour and a half. I have searched the discussion groups and have not been able to find a solution to the problem.

I am running a Compaq Presario laptop R3000 with 1.1 gb of memory. Platform is i686; CPU is an Intel Pentium 4 with 3.00 GHz. Chipset is ATi Radeon 9100 IGP / FSB 200: MHz.

Even though I've been using Ubuntu for quite some time, I still consider myself a newbie. I do not have a good understanding of the command line.

I would appreciate any help you can offer.

Thanks.

2F4U
September 4th, 2011, 08:44 AM
1. Do you see error messages in the system log when it freezes?
2. Is the laptop getting hotter under 10.04 than under 9.10?
3. Did you run a memtest (available on most liveCD's) in order to test the RAM?

coffeecat
September 4th, 2011, 09:49 AM
Since you get freezes in 10.04, but not in 9.10 a hardware fault seems unlikely, but still possible. That's the trouble with random freezes. If you don't get them, you may be just having a run of good luck. That being said, I would guess there is an obscure bug specific to your hardware and one or more of the drivers in the kernel used in 10.04. Each newer version of Ubuntu uses a newer version of the kernel. You don't say whether you have tried something newer than 10.04, so I would suggest you do if you haven't already.