PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] noob installation question

teemarkconvair
September 2nd, 2011, 11:19 AM
11.04 dual with win7/ runs fine.. i can't find a way to install drivers for spacenavigator.. i open the tar and have the ".sh" to install, BUT it won't install.the "working" icon shows for a few seconds, i have checked properties and it is set to execute.. i am totally new to linux.. i tried package manager but it won't accept the tar or the .sh.. and am at a roadblock,,any help is appreciated. [never done any "command line]

sanderd17
September 2nd, 2011, 11:35 AM
a .sh is normally a shell script. You need to open a terminal (CTRL+ALT+T) and go to the directory where the .sh file is. Say the .sh file is in the dirctory Downloads/spacenavigator under your home directory, then you have to do

cd Downloads/spacenavigator

(if it gives an error, try to unsterstand the error and do not continue without fixing the error)

than, I don't know if the file is already executable. But to make it execuatable, you have to do a "chmod u+x" (CHange the MODifiers to make it eXecutable for the User) on the file. If your file is called install.sh, this gives

chmod u+x install.sh

Now you can run it:

./install.sh

HINT: you can use the TAB key to autocomplete filenames and commands, and you can use the up-down arrows to get commands from your history back (useful if you only have to change one letter in a long line).

Hakunka-Matata
September 2nd, 2011, 12:16 PM
try
sudo bash install.sh

teemarkconvair
September 2nd, 2011, 11:34 PM
a .sh is normally a shell script. You need to open a terminal (CTRL+ALT+T) and go to the directory where the .sh file is. Say the .sh file is in the dirctory Downloads/spacenavigator under your home directory, then you have to do

cd Downloads/spacenavigator

(if it gives an error, try to unsterstand the error and do not continue without fixing the error)