PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Very Basic Question about Python

Lestathim
September 1st, 2011, 05:18 PM
I am new to Python and programming in general and just had a very basic question that I can't seem to find the answer for anywhere. I am using IDLE to enter my Python code. Prior to this I was just using the Terminal to do so. What I can't seem to figure out is how to enter multiple lines of code before output is given. For instance if I say:

print "Line One" #I Get
Line One
print "Line Two" #I Get
Line Two

How exactly do I write this so that it produces both outputs at one time? Like for instance this:

print "Line One"
print "Line Two"

Line One
Line Two

I know that's probably a basic questions but the books I have been reading and my recent searches haven't seemed to yield any results. Thanks a lot for your time!

karlson
September 1st, 2011, 05:29 PM
I am new to Python and programming in general and just had a very basic question that I can't seem to find the answer for anywhere. I am using IDLE to enter my Python code. Prior to this I was just using the Terminal to do so. What I can't seem to figure out is how to enter multiple lines of code before output is given. For instance if I say:

print "Line One" #I Get
Line One
print "Line Two" #I Get
Line Two

How exactly do I write this so that it produces both outputs at one time? Like for instance this:

print "Line One"
print "Line Two"

Line One
Line Two

I know that's probably a basic questions but the books I have been reading and my recent searches haven't seemed to yield any results. Thanks a lot for your time!

print "Line One\nLine Two\n"

Smart Viking
September 1st, 2011, 05:45 PM
print "Hello,"; print "Mars!"

Pythons executes the same way in IDLE as it does with a text file, one line at a time. But when it's in a text file, python know what the next line is.

Lestathim
September 1st, 2011, 06:48 PM