PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual-boot Ubuntu / Windows 7

paihungchen
September 1st, 2011, 06:56 AM
Hi,

I am totally new to Ubuntu (and to Unix/Linux in the broader sense). I just tried to install Ubuntu on a Windows 7 Toshiba laptop by running Ubuntu's Windows installer as indicated here:

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/windows-installer

The installation succeeded. After I rebooted the laptop, I saw two boot options as expected: Windows 7 and Ubuntu, and I selected Ubuntu. However, after "booting" into Ubuntu, all I saw is a black full-screen command-line shell with "GRUB" as the prompt. I tried some simple commands and the only one that worked is "ls" (not even "cd", "mkdir", etc.). I suppose this shouldn't be what it is supposed to be? May it be because my laptop only has one partition (C: drive) in it?

I guess it should be plenty obvious that I am a total newbie here. Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks,
Pai-Hung

Mark Phelps
September 1st, 2011, 03:06 PM
Some folks will probably tell you to simply reinstall -- but anything you do at this point is going to risk damaging the Win7 setup, so BEFORE you do anything else, boot into Win7 and use the Backup feature to create and burn a Win7 Repair CD.

That will allow you to restore Win7 boot if an Ubuntu reinstall or repair somehow corrupts it.

Reg71
September 1st, 2011, 05:04 PM
I just bought a toshiba nb505 about a week or so ago and I have it dual booting so if there is something I can look at in my config files that would help, I 'd be glad to. I'm pretty new to ubuntu also but I use it for most everything I do on my computer and only boot over to ******* if I am gonna watch netflix or use my citrix client. I used the setup procedure listed on ubuntu.com download page for the USB stick installation from windows. I dont reacall any trouble with it, but I've slept since installing so I probably forgot everything. Good luck in getting going.

jahboi
September 1st, 2011, 07:03 PM