PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] underperfoming graphics 11.04 with ati drivers

sodariver
August 31st, 2011, 06:44 AM
hi, first off, i am a noob to ubuntu. i am trying to get some decent graphics out of my ati Mobility Radeon HD 5430, there is no way i can do this without the proprietary driver (unity won't even run without it). then, i tried pretty much everything to get a decent experience, say while working with the blender game engine:

I installed the driver and followed the instructions here-> http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Natty_Installation_Guide#Removing_Catalyst. 2Ffglrx

i have disabled the vBlank in the OpenGL settings in CompizConfig, also in the Composite options, i disabled the "detect refresh rate" and set it manually to 60.

on the ati control panel there is a give and take situation: if I enable the "tear free" option, the graphics are better, but slower, whereas when it's disabled the graphics run faster, but well, teared.

do you guys have any ideas? i hate to say this but the realtime video performs better in windoze :( i hate it so any help will be very welcome.

Johnny Buffalkill
September 3rd, 2011, 08:01 PM
I usually just post replies to the 11.04 - ATI proprietary graphics issues to commiserate. I still haven't got them working at all with natty, but my GPU is an HD 3200, so I don't miss as much by using the open source drivers, and I mainly watch movies and don't play games much.

That said, I did run across a site that seems to imply that upgrading the kernel to 2.6.39 may allow the proprietary drivers to work with natty.

http://www.mindwerks.net/2011/04/ubuntu-11-04-natty-with-fglrx-and-2-6-39/