PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Avr---in ubuntu

arun_nr
August 30th, 2011, 03:26 PM
im new to Ubuntu and im using 11.04 version.and im working on avr microcontrollers,and installed avr dude avr gcc and avr lib c in it.can anyone tel how to do compiling and burning from terminal..
with regards
arun

seawolf167
August 30th, 2011, 03:43 PM
You can read the gcc man page

man gcc

compiling a c/c++ program is essentially

gcc -o outfile infile

if you don't specify the "-o outfile" part, then part default it will be named "a.out" in the working directory

gshendrick
August 30th, 2011, 03:49 PM
Hi arun,
avrdude will write to your chip if you have the right hardware connected to your computer. It's a very versatile tool and you can see what hardware it supports by viewing

man avrdudeI can probably help you a bit more if you could provide more details regarding your hardware. What programmer do you have ? Which chip do you have ?
Thanks,
Gary

arun_nr
August 30th, 2011, 03:50 PM
yup im using an usbasp programmer for my avr atmega 16 board..

blitzit
August 30th, 2011, 03:54 PM
You could use this makefile. It uses 3 commands:

avr-gcc : to compile your code
avr-objcopy : to build modules into a .hex
avrdude : the downloader uploader device to burn the .hex into the flash

Here are the contents of the file:

#BUILDS AND COMPILES .C FILE DEFINED AT THE COMMAND LINE TO PRODUCE .OUT AND .HEX FILE; SUBSEQUENTLY LOADS THE .HEX FILE INTO THE FLASH OF THE MICROCONTROLLER
#DEFINED WITHIN THIS MAKEFILE

$(FILE).hex : $(FILE).out
avr-objcopy -j .data -j .text -O ihex $(FILE).out $(FILE).hex
avrdude -c usbasp -p m8 -U flash:w:$(FILE).hex -U hfuse:r:hfuse.txt:h -U lfuse:r:lfuse.txt:h

$(FILE).out : $(FILE).c
avr-gcc -mmcu=atmega8 -Os $(FILE).c -o $(FILE).out

Create a file and copy these contents into it. Save it as "makefile".