PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Kubuntu-desktop or Standalone install?

Anfloyd
August 28th, 2011, 12:08 PM
Hi. I'm new to Ubuntu but slowly finding my feet and starting to love both how it runs and what it stands for. But I'm quite an indecisive kind of guy and can't make up my mind on whether to use Ubuntu with Unity or KDE. Now I'm aware that I can install kde desktop from within ubuntu 11.04 but my question is whether or not there are any significant differences (performance or otherwise) in doing this or just using a fresh standalone install of Kubuntu?

Cheers.

rectec794613
August 28th, 2011, 03:02 PM
Hello, Anfloyd.

Welcome to the forums and Ubuntu.

It's normal for new users to have a hard time deciding desktop environments. Mostly it's a matter of personal choice. If you haven't decided over KDE or Unity, I would recommend you watch some videos and view pictures on each one, and see which fits you best.

Regarding your question about installing KDE from within Ubuntu, there's not gonna be much difference performance-wise. However there might be some conflicts with things such as default programs, icons, etc. For that reason I would recommend doing a fresh install of Kubuntu 11.04. I'm not completely sure how well the former will go as I've not installed KDE over Unity, but have installed it over Gnome several times, and the results were not good. Some stability issues, startup errors. I think it would be best to enjoy KDE on a fresh install. If you have personal files and/or program settings saved, I recommend making a copy of your home folder, and we'll aid you from there.

Good luck!

-Rob

IWantFroyo
August 28th, 2011, 03:07 PM
You can just install kubuntu-desktop, but if you want to install the KDE programs, I would recommend a fresh install.

SeijiSensei
August 28th, 2011, 04:57 PM