PDA

View Full Version : Alienware with Unix?

Laughy
August 27th, 2011, 10:03 PM
I'm a complete noob when it comes to Unix, Linux, what have you: This is a fact. I've recently installed Ubuntu onto an HP laptop of mine, and I really love it. I wanted to install Ubuntu on my current PC but I couldn't get it working quite right, something about my graphics card if I recall.

But that's all just some rambling before the question, I will soon find myself in possession of a Alienware Area-51 Desktop, probably higher end than lower end, and I was wondering if you good folks think it would be a good idea to run Ubuntu on it.

I am a pretty nonstop gamer, that's why I want the Alienware, and I once thought it was impossible to game and use Unix, but I know that's just not true. I'm more worried about the operating system inhibiting the hardware, as that hardware is fantastic. I also just hate being under Microsoft's dominion, even though windows is included with the purchase, I just don't like it.

tl;dr: Alienware + Ubuntu = Good Fit?

themusicalduck
August 27th, 2011, 10:14 PM
As long as everything works then there's no reason not to. I wouldn't say the hardware would be inhibited by Ubuntu. If anything I find that Linux runs better than Windows on powerful hardware. When you get the desktop, check everything works properly with a Live CD session.

However, if you want to use this desktop exclusively to run Windows games, then you should probably just use Windows. It'll be easier overall and in that case it WILL run better on the hardware. A native Windows game will almost always run better in Windows than when using Wine and Linux. (Incidentally, there are some great Linux native games around if you look for them.)

I dual boot my computers so if I want to play a game I just have to reboot. I don't play a lot of games though and Windows doesn't get used very often.