PDA

View Full Version : Open source bounty projects

Belathor
May 27th, 2006, 11:04 PM
Hi,

I am not a programmer but I'd like to see if anything like this has ever been proposed:

A website where open-source bounties are listed in an ebay-esque manner. By this, I envision a list of open-source bounties and a current running total of how much the bounty is worth. It would be easy to add, say, $20 to the bounty and have the running total increase.

This way, non-programmers can facilitate the development of open-source applications that fit thier needs in a way that would give monitary feedback to developers as to which features and applications are most desired by users.

Thanks for listening!

kingmonkey
May 27th, 2006, 11:44 PM
Set the website up. Patent the idea. Charge 5% comission on all transactions and be rich. ;)

skymt
May 28th, 2006, 01:01 AM
Set the website up. Patent the idea. Charge 5% comission on all transactions and be rich. ;)
He'd have to be a programmer to do that, wouldn't he? ;)

(Or hire one.)

yaaarrrgg
May 28th, 2006, 03:17 AM
that's a great idea... should be a bounty on that! :)

really, the only tricky thing would be figuring out a good security model (so crackers don't try to exploit it). i suppose:

1. you'd have to require real identification from programmers (verified bank account, mailing address, ...)

2. all code would need to be open for public scrutiny.

Belathor
May 28th, 2006, 04:20 AM
that's a great idea... should be a bounty on that! :)

really, the only tricky thing would be figuring out a good security model (so crackers don't try to exploit it). i suppose:

1. you'd have to require real identification from programmers (verified bank account, mailing address, ...)

2. all code would need to be open for public scrutiny.

Absolutely! :-D

orlox
May 28th, 2006, 04:24 AM
I think you're idea was already taken:

http://www.ubuntu.com/developers/bounties?highlight=%28bounty%29

yaaarrrgg
May 28th, 2006, 05:03 AM