PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] A newbie : parittion scheme info

cbalasubramanian
August 25th, 2011, 06:03 PM
Friends,
I want to try ubuntu and this is my first attempt with it. I have just downloaded the lastest 11.04 version.
My system is 32 bit asus laptop with vista already installed in it. The hard disk is partionted in the following way.

/sda1- 10 GB - ntfs - windows recover - primary
/sda2- 60 GB - ntfs - vista os - primary
/sda3- 56 GB - ntfs - primay ( where i want to put ubuntu )
/sda5 -106 GB - logical drive.

I want to put ubuntu in /sda3. I have several questions regardin the partitioning scheme.

1) my ram is 4GB, how much swap i can give. Just a 2GB is okay or is it mandatory to have swap as twice the size of ram
2) do i need to have a seperate /boot
3) is this scheme optimal: swap , / and / home -> just three logical volumes inside /sda3. or is there any necessaity that one of the parition should be as primary
4) In case /boot is necessary, should it be made as primary and rest as logical drives.

thanks,
Bala

Hakunka-Matata
August 25th, 2011, 06:31 PM
Friends,
I want to try ubuntu and this is my first attempt with it. I have just downloaded the lastest 11.04 version.
My system is 32 bit asus laptop with vista already installed in it. The hard disk is partionted in the following way.

/sda1- 10 GB - ntfs - windows recover - primary
/sda2- 60 GB - ntfs - vista os - primary
/sda3- 56 GB - ntfs - primay ( where i want to put ubuntu )
/sda5 -106 GB - logical drive.

I want to put ubuntu in /sda3. I have several questions regardin the partitioning scheme.

1) my ram is 4GB, how much swap i can give. Just a 2GB is okay or is it mandatory to have swap as twice the size of ram
2) do i need to have a seperate /boot
3) is this scheme optimal: swap , / and / home -> just three logical volumes inside /sda3. or is there any necessaity that one of the parition should be as primary