PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can only boot with 'Ubuntu failsafe graphics mode" (nvidia gc issue) +

senserbase
August 25th, 2011, 05:47 PM
Hello all ! I am new here ...

I have been using Ubuntu 11.04 for about 6 months so i am kind of new in the Linux scene...

The reason that i moved to the Linux OS is for my programming , and i thought that maybe my nVIDIA 7300GT will work here at GNOME environment... the reason is that one day (1.5 years ago ) i booted my computer-windows 7- and suddenly i had a blue screen that said i have problem with my gpu and something about nvidia driver file ___.sys ... so i had to start using my intel built-in gc ... so then 6 months ago i thought that maybe if i will move to linux i wouldn't have this problem any more ... so i installed Ubuntu
and when i connected my nvidia 7300gt to my computer and booted it with Ubuntu all i got was black screen ,i was able to see commands lines (in the menu of the OS dialog) though ...

yesterday i got little bored so i decided to try to connect my nvidia gc again but this time i went to recovery mode and chose "failsafe graphics mode " and it booted perfectly (-only one problem that now i am stuck in Ubuntu classic "theme " even though i am booting in regular mode)...

so my question is what is the configuration of ubuntu when i booting in that safe mode ? - and can i do something to be able to boot in normal mode with my nvidia card ?

*and why I am stuck in ubutnu classic mode even though I set it on “ubuntu” (in the login options)

THANKS FOR ALL THE HELPERS !!!!

valvegrid
August 25th, 2011, 06:37 PM
Silly question from me, have you purged all the legacy Nvidia drivers and downloaded and installed the drivers from the Nvidia site? This tells you how to install the drivers manually.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/NvidiaManual (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BinaryDriverHowto/Nvidia)

senserbase
August 25th, 2011, 07:51 PM