PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't reach log in screen after update by Update Manager

HaPpYb0i
August 25th, 2011, 06:01 AM
Using 11.04. After an update by Update Manager, everything seems fine. but after I rebooted it fails to reach the log in screen. It shows Ubuntu is booting up, after that, it seems it has crash, though I managed to boot it up and go into my desktop in low graphics mode.

As I'm new to Ubuntu, I really do not know what to do. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

Here is a picture I've taken:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/204/img0037pn.jpg/

mörgæs
August 27th, 2011, 07:35 AM
Hi, welcome to the fora.

Have you confirmed that 11.04 works in a live boot on this computer?

Mark Phelps
August 27th, 2011, 08:28 PM
I encounter this far more often than should be the case ...

What I recommend is the following:
1) Boot, holding down the SHIFT key. This will force the display of the GRUB menu
2) When the menu comes up, choose the top-most Recovery Mode option
3) That will eventually show a menu -- chose Repair Broken Packages
4) If that completes OK, choose the Normal Boot option.
5) If that doesn't work, it's liable to force you to login again.
6) If you are still in a text screen, enter"startx".

That should display your desktop again.

I though they had FINALLY fixed this problem ... but after several weeks, it happend to me again ... today.

Hakunka-Matata
August 27th, 2011, 09:15 PM
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1743535&highlight=Graphical+problems&page=8
That's the thread the below information comes from: it's a very long thread, sticky, excerpt from post #1 below:

Troubleshooting Flow Chart
This is to break this down into steps:
Step 1. Do you have a Grub Menu?
- Yes: Go to step 2...
- No: Whiie booting, Press shift key (don't hold down) multiple times to see if the Grub menu will come up
- - If yes on Menu, go to step 2
- - If no, comment out /etc/default/grub/ GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=00. and rerun grub-update (from a LiveCD)