PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Noob ubuntu user has a used laptop with 8 ubuntu start up options!?

Foolishtony
August 24th, 2011, 02:30 PM
Hi just got a used laptop from pawn shop with ubuntu on it. I'm new with this but is it supposed to have 6 start up options outside of the normal start up and recovery mode? There is an option for "Previous linux versions" "Memory test(memtest86+)" "Memory test(memtest86+, serial console 115200)" and "Ubuntu (10.10)(on /dev/sda1)" three times. At first this didn't concern me until i noticed that my 150gb was showing 98.5 free space when it was supposedly wiped!! So I looked around here to see what was up and came across the topics of "dual booting" and "partitioning". So i was wondering what are these other options(obviously i didn't pick these out of fear) and they partitioning my hard drive? Can i fix it? And please speak slowly I'm noob.

androssofer
August 24th, 2011, 02:36 PM
Hi just got a used laptop from pawn shop with ubuntu on it. I'm new with this but is it supposed to have 6 start up options outside of the normal start up and recovery mode? There is an option for "Previous linux versions" "Memory test(memtest86+)" "Memory test(memtest86+, serial console 115200)" and "Ubuntu (10.10)(on /dev/sda1)" three times. At first this didn't concern me until i noticed that my 250gb was showing 98.5 free space when it was supposedly wiped!! So I looked around here to see what was up and came across the topics of "dual booting" and "partitioning". So i was wondering what are these other options(obviously i didn't pick these out of fear) and they partitioning my hard drive? Can i fix it? And please speak slowly I'm noob.

Welcome to the forums!

wen u update and stuff it can add new entries into the list. so the top 1 is the latest and the rest are prob older versions just. nothing to worry about.

here is a how to on getting it cleaned up. tho read it carefully..