PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Firefox 6 memory leak like symptom

maxfac
August 23rd, 2011, 04:54 PM
Hi guys,

First of all, I am not a computer expert. Would be grateful is someone could give me advice.

When using Firefox 6, after some time, the system appears to be slowing down over time. It's worse when there are a lot of javascripts or when javascripts are repeatedly used again and again.

However when doing the same activities using Chromium, it's fine - no lagging/slow down over time.

I am using ubuntu 11.04.
uname -r > 2.6.38-11-generic

Thanks.

Regards.

lovinglinux
August 24th, 2011, 02:36 PM
It could be some extension causing the problem. Can you reproduce it in safe mode?

I would recommend trying Firefox 7.0b1, which has huge memory improvements. See Firefox 4,5 & Beyond Mega Thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1712247) for installation instructions.

maxfac
August 25th, 2011, 11:57 PM
I disabled the add-ons and the problem is still reproducible.

Well, even if it is solved without the add-ons, I still need to use the add-ons.

Think I'll just wait for the version 7 release. Using chromium in the interim.

lovinglinux
August 26th, 2011, 01:41 AM
I disabled the add-ons and the problem is still reproducible.

Well, even if it is solved without the add-ons, I still need to use the add-ons.

Think I'll just wait for the version 7 release. Using chromium in the interim.

The procedure was to determine if any add-ons was causing the problem. You would turn them on again after finding the culprit.

Anyways, can you post the link of the page causing the problem?

I would suggest using NoScript to block unnecessary scripts from running. There are also other add-ons that can block stuff you don't need, like Ghostery, AdBlock Plus and Flashblock.

ralanyo
August 26th, 2011, 06:27 AM