PDA

View Full Version : [wubi] Update Manager Error: Not enough free disk space

dancingLoki
August 19th, 2011, 05:56 AM
I am a beginner to Ubuntu & Linux. Some months back I installed ubuntu on a somewhat aged & slowed down acer laptop running win XP. Finally I tried running ubuntu a couple days ago & it's been pretty smooth, until this from update manager:
---------------------------------------------------------------
Not enough free disk space

The upgrade needs a total of 615M free space on disk '/'. Please free at least an additional 296M of disk space on '/'. Empty your trash and remove temporary packages of former installations using 'sudo apt-get clean'.
I guess I don't have to install these "important security updates", but it's probably best I do & learn how to use the file browser, terminal (Applications - Accessories - really, it's a little hidden), other important parts of ubuntu.

For downloading I have an external drive connected with 760 GB free - more than enough space for anything. I can also move files to this disk - do I maybe need to reboot into win xp to move files? I have no idea how to know which ubuntu files to remove for space - proc folder seems to have enough room, but should I just move it to the external drive? I can't seem to access the rest of the hard Drive where I could simply move a 4GB movie.

fdrake
August 19th, 2011, 06:07 AM
I am a beginner to Ubuntu & Linux. Some months back I installed ubuntu on a somewhat aged & slowed down acer laptop running win XP. Finally I tried running ubuntu a couple days ago & it's been pretty smooth, until this from update manager:

The upgrade needs a total of 615M free space on disk '/'. Please free at least an additional 296M of disk space on '/'. Empty your trash and remove temporary packages of former installations using 'sudo apt-get clean'.