PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Monitors resolution questions

ArchaicAvenger
August 18th, 2011, 07:30 PM
I'm new to Linux by a couple days now, and I've been trying to hook up my Compaq 5017m monitor to my Toshiba laptop (not a netbook). The laptop has a maximum resolution of 1280x800 and the external monitor 1024x768. It worked perfectly when both monitors are on a resolution of 1024x768 (or any other combination lower than this for either screen), but it lags when I try to put the laptop on maximum.

This laptop was Windows a week ago and it had no problem supporting both monitors at peak resolution, so I don't think it would be the graphics card. I am running Ubuntu 11.04. Is there a driver I need to install, or a setting I need to tweak? (And if so, how?)

seawolf167
August 18th, 2011, 07:35 PM
See if you have any video drivers available to install. Assuming you are using 11.04, click the power button in the upper right, select system settings, then select Additional Drivers and check for graphics drivers.

ArchaicAvenger
August 18th, 2011, 07:41 PM
No drivers to install. (And yes, it's 11.04).

I saw an earlier thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1809560&highlight=dual+monitors) with a similar (if not the same) problem, and one of the suggestions was to edit Xorg.conf to force a specific resolution. Is that something that would work (and if so, how would I do it?)

seawolf167
August 18th, 2011, 08:03 PM
Take a look at this how-to page (https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Resolution#How_to_setup_a_dual_monitor)for manually setting it with xrandr/xorg/etc.

ArchaicAvenger
August 18th, 2011, 10:11 PM