PDA

View Full Version : Live CD - Evaluation

jkrems
August 18th, 2011, 06:55 PM
Hi everyone!

It's a couple of years since Live CDs of various Linux distributions are available. Was there any evaluation in the meantime if and how people actually use this feature? Are there statistics about conversion rate? Or about how many people directly click install without trying the system out for a second? I'm no expert on Linux so please excuse me if I posted this in a totally inappropriate place. :)

Jan

P.S.: I guess some sentences in this post are grammatically totally messed up - I'm not a native speaker, the typical excuse.

An Sanct
August 18th, 2011, 08:45 PM
Welcome to the forums!

Well, AFAIK, there is no data on how many people try the OS first and then install it. For this, the OS would have to spy on the user and that is not the way of Linux (other unnamed operating systems do that).

Live CDs and USBs are a very good thing, they are actually live savers :) -> mess up fstab and the way to retrieve it from a backup is via a Live session CD/USB (!Always make a backup and keep a Live CD/USB near!)

I personally also use a Live USB as a mini development tool, with LAMP and other software installed I have my working environment in my pocket, which can be booted from any computer and unlike the OS, that is mostly there, is fully UTF-8 and with all my personal passwords and stuff where I want/need them.

jkrems
August 18th, 2011, 09:52 PM
I thought maybe there would be surveys of some kind. It only occured to me when I was installing Ubuntu and Fedora on VMs the other day and the only way to do it was to launch the OS from CD (at least that's the only way that is advertised towards new users). I asked myself whether "actual" new users do that. Or if they'd rather be irritated by booting the OS to install the OS. Short: Whether this mode of installation is the right one to acquire new users.