PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Grub does not run default boot timer when shut down from a script

AndrewU
August 18th, 2011, 02:44 AM
Hey All,
I am fairly new to Ubuntu, and like it so far, but I have a weird problem. I am trying to use Ubuntu (ntfsclone) to automatically reload a windows image to computer lab computers every night when people go home. I have everything set up to run in automatic, but when I run a script to shut down Ubuntu automatically, the next time the system boots, the "boot to default OS" timer in Grub does not work, or even appear. I have messed around trying to pinpoint where/why it fails to show up, and I think it is because the shut down is coming from a script... I am at my wit's end trying to figure this one out, and could really use some help!

Background:
System is set up for dual boot, with Ubuntu as the default
In windows, an automated task reboots the computer at 7:00pm
After the reboot, Ubuntu starts automatically after the 10sec timeout, (This is where my timer is gone)
Upon hitting run mode 2, (multi-user, /etc/rc2.d) I have a script that says "sudo shutdown -P +5".
After 5 min, the computer shuts down.
Upon hitting run mode 0, or 6, (halt or reboot, /etc/rc0.d or /etc/rc6.d) I have a script that runs ntfsclone
to re-image my windows partition.
The next morning, the students boot up the computer, and select "windows XP", and enjoy a clean
computer.

Testing I have done so far:
If I run "sudo shutdown -P +5" from the terminal, I get the timer on the next boot... I do have to enter in
the root password at the prompt though, which I obviously don't have to do for the script.
If I shut down/restart the computer with the controls in the upper right-hand corner of the screen, I get
the timer.
Other shutdown options, -h, -r, etc give the same result

Help please!

drs305
August 18th, 2011, 03:02 AM
I am not sure what is happening but have one idea for you to investigate.