PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No bootloader after fedora 15 install

jfed
August 17th, 2011, 08:44 PM
Hello, I have seen multiple others with this problem, I now have it too. I had Ubuntu 10.10 installed on my entire disk, then I installed Fedora 15 with it. The resizing-the-disk went smoothly, everything is great, but now when I turn on my machine, I get no grub, no boot loader, nothing. I just get thrown right into Fedora. I saw on a few other posts that if you manage to get into Ubuntu, you can open a terminal and type something along the lines of sudo grub update, and that would do the trick. The only issue is that I can't even get into ubuntu. I also was told that if you boot from a livecd you can edit the boot config, or view it, or something. I'm pretty new to all this "bootloader grub" jazz, and am hopelessly confused. How do I make it so that upon startup, I am able to choose between Ubuntu and Fedora?

Any input is apreciated, thanks in advance.

YesWeCan
August 17th, 2011, 09:09 PM
Hi there. It is because fedora's boot-loader code (legacy Grub) over-wrote Ubuntu's boot-loader code (probably Grub2) as they occupy the same disk area. The trick would have been, and there is no way you would have know to do this, to install fedora without installing Grub and then boot Ubuntu and run 'sudo update-grub' to add fedora to Ubuntu's Grub menu.

Ways to fix Ubuntu's Grub are here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2 in Section 12, assuming your 10.10 is using Grub2.

Elfy
August 17th, 2011, 09:22 PM
Alternatively you can add ubuntu to the fedora bootloader or even install grub2 to it (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=262670).

jfed
August 17th, 2011, 11:05 PM