PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Grub Prompt error out of disk ubuntu 11.04

rchande
August 15th, 2011, 06:56 AM
I am installing ubuntu 11.04 from CD from inside Windows - dual boot.

Have 3 drives C, E and F. C - windows XP sp2 works fine even after ubuntu installation, no problem here.
I have installed Ubuntu in F drive, ubuntu installation went
fine, but after reboot it halts at the grub prompt.

C: (hd0,msdos1)
D: (hd0,msdos5)
F: (hd0,msdos6)
F:/ubuntu/disks/boot/grub --- No files in here, its empty
F:/ubuntu/disks/boot/ --- No files in here, its empty

I tried following the steps given at: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2#Command

set prefix=(hd0,msdos6)/ubuntu/disks/boot/grub
set root=(loop0)
insmod normal
normal
set
ls (hd0,msdos6)/ubuntu/disks/boot
insmod linux
linux /vmlinuz root=/(hd0,msdos6)/ loop=/ubuntu/disks/root.disk ro ---- This fails with "error: out of disk".
initrd /initrd.img
boot

I am a newbie and not ubuntu expert, any help please?

Regards,
Raj.

madjr
August 15th, 2011, 07:31 AM
hmm, could you test other drives?
try installing in C and/or D.

also make sure you give any ubuntu install enough space (10+ gb)

uninstall the ubuntu you already have in add/remove software.

if installing from inside windows keeps failing, i would try from a live-cd or live-usb and install from there.

rchande
August 15th, 2011, 07:38 AM
Thanks for a quick response.

Currently I have given 30GB while installing on F drive. I believe thats more than enough.

I will try on D drive as u said, Should the D drive be fully empty? I have some other data on this D drive with still @25 GB space available. Ubuntu installation can co-exist with some other data on D Drive, no issues with that, right?

I am planning to allocate 17GB to Ubuntu on D drive, -- I hope that should be sufficient.

madjr
August 15th, 2011, 07:57 AM
Thanks for a quick response.

Currently I have given 30GB while installing on F drive. I believe thats more than enough.