PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Install Error

T1125P
August 15th, 2011, 12:46 AM
Hi all. I'm new to Ubuntu 11.04 I know only some commands and other tweaks, I'm mostly a Win 7 expert LOL Anyway I wanted to install Ubuntu on my Netbook using a 32GB SD card. I download the wubi installer, used 30gb for installation size on the SD card, rebooted fine, but when it got to the ubuntu screen, it just sat there loading. I disconnected the internet to maybe speed it up and it did nothing. It was ******* me off lol so I just hit the power button. But now it shows a dual boot on my C drive, but I didn't have it on C it was on my SD card. I even uninstalled it from windows took out eveything, so now I get this \ubuntu\winboot\wubildr.mbr when windows boot, I dont want this lol I need to take this entry out.. Need some help....Thanks

madjr
August 15th, 2011, 01:05 AM
ok, it didnt get to the second installation screen.

the first time it reboots from windows it should take like a minute or 2 and then load the second part of the installation.

it could hang sometimes if the computer is a bit slow or hardware not being detected properly...

so can windows still boot?

to check if its not a hardware detection problem, what you can do is test/try it from an usb stick (live version. 2gb usb recommended) and see if everything works.

instructions:
http://www.ubuntu.com/download

you can also try an older/lighter version (10.04 or 10.10)

T1125P
August 15th, 2011, 01:41 AM