PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help to install on ssd with gpt, boot with efi via grub2

varx
August 12th, 2011, 07:37 AM
As I now have a 120Gb SSD in an efi-capable laptop, I'd like to re-install 11.04. I'd like to format the SSD as gpt and make it bootable with efi. And I'd like to use grub2 as the bootloader.

Can anybody walk me through this? I'm pretty new to Ubuntu, though I've used several other distros for a number of years. When I last installed 11.04, I don't remember seeing options for gpt, for example. And I don't know how get things booting with efi.

Thanks very much.

YesWeCan
August 12th, 2011, 10:36 AM
My first thought is why would you want to do this, but I'll assume you have a good reason.

I believe that efi support by Grub is still in the experimental stage.
Grub can be used in a GPT in bios boot mode. You need to make a bios boot partition for it to install its main program to and it will put boot code in the protective MBR. You can boot a live CD/usb and use Disk Manager to format your SSD with a GPT and make all the partitions before you install.

varx
August 12th, 2011, 12:48 PM
My first thought is why would you want to do this, but I'll assume you have a good reason.

I believe that efi support by Grub is still in the experimental stage.
Grub can be used in a GPT in bios boot mode. You need to make a bios boot partition for it to install its main program to and it will put boot code in the protective MBR. You can boot a live CD/usb and use Disk Manager to format your SSD with a GPT and make all the partitions before you install.
Thanks for the info, YesWeCan.

I've been using an older machine for a number of years, and now that I've got this new one, I want to put its capabilities to the test. Even though I don't expect to be using a 2Tb+ drive anytime soon, it looks as if gpt is going to become standard, especially since it's part of the UEFI initiative which new motherboards seem to be supporting.