PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to configure MBR to point to GRUB

pckrfan75
August 11th, 2011, 07:24 AM
So I am interested in running Ubuntu side-by-side with my windows 7. It appears that the Ubuntu 11.04 installer does most of the work for me as partitioning according to: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WindowsDualBoot but the only thing it says that I would be having to do myself is changing the code on my MBR to point to the GRUB2. I am not afraid of command prompts, but would like some hand holding as I don't wwant to guess and check when dealing with MBR.

Also, a few miscellaneous questions:

1. Is there any way to share documents between my Ubuntu partition and Windows partition? Or some way to make it so documents and non OS specific files are accessible by both OSs?

2. Is it recommended to let Ubuntu do the partitioning for me? Or is there something to be gained by partitioning myself?

As you can tell I am fairly new to the world of Linux and whatnot, so basic speech would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

dino99
August 11th, 2011, 07:42 AM
config grub2:
sudo dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc
there check your hdd(s) (some kind of: /dev/sdx, where x is a->z)

sharing:
sudo apt-get install samba ntfsprogs ntfs-3g winbind

installing:
i prefer to partition myself and dont use the installer doing blindly things
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=10161428&postcount=2

pckrfan75
August 11th, 2011, 07:46 AM
config grub2:
sudo dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc
there check your hdd(s) (some kind of: /dev/sdx, where x is a->z)

sharing:
sudo apt-get install samba ntfsprogs ntfs-3g winbind

installing:
i prefer to partition myself and dont use the installer doing blindly things
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=10161428&postcount=2

Thank you! I think I get the gist of what you mean but just to clarify, all the sudo stuff is being typed into a Terminal command line, yes?