PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Need more room on /

lsutiger
August 9th, 2011, 01:12 AM
I need more room on my / partition. For some unknown reason, I only made it about 7.5 GB when I first installed 9.04. I need to upgrade to 10.04 (at least) and it states I need more room on /.

I have plenty of room available on my /home and swap partition (they are under the same extended partition). Attached is a pic of Gparted.
Is there a way to grab space from the sbd2 partition and give it to sbd1? I tried earlier, but couldn't figure out a way to do it.

Basher101
August 9th, 2011, 01:14 AM
There is no pic o.O also it is possible. Depending on how big your partitions are this could take hours though, because you have to "move" the partition (depending on your partition setup). Do you have experience with partitioning?

lsutiger
August 9th, 2011, 01:21 AM
Hey Basher101! Thank you for the quick reply. Yeah I notice right after I clicked submit :-/

I have limited experience with partitioning, as in I do not do it on a daily basis, but understand how to set the partitions. I am just not sure about the question at hand.

This machine is in a business environment and it is critical that it is up and running. We haven't really implemented cloud computing yet :)

I do have daily backups on the server, so if everything gets wasted, I can get it back up and running, but I really do want to go through that again!!

Basher101
August 9th, 2011, 01:28 AM