PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Installing Grub still failing

FormatSeize
August 3rd, 2011, 02:50 AM
This is the second time this has happened. I wouldn't be upset if it failed during an earlier part of the installation. Installations are boring. I posted this the first time that it happened, but I think that wasn't the correct forum for that.

Anyhow, I didn't immediately give up on this today. I'm still here on the live CD, and completely unexciting things are still going on. The error I get involves a popup window, which says:
"Exectuing 'grub-install /dev/sda' failed.
"This is a fatal error."

I think what I am seeing is attached to this post. I've never had installation problems. I'm even self taught on how to burn an iso, so this is all new to me.

I go into a terminal and type try to use cfdisk, and it tells me:

FATAL ERROR: Bad primary partition 1: Partition ends after end of disk
This isn't the first time that cfdisk yelled at me about something that sounded impossible to be true in the first place so I just ignored it, but this time it bothers me. My setup is different. I've always done installs on a single disk. This time, it's three clean disks set up in a RAID 5. Yes, I did Google "RAID" before I did this, but the only real reason I did it is because a buddy of mine was talking about it and it sounded cool. Not really because I need one, or that I even fully understand why it's good to have one. It probably has nothing to do with my problem, but I'm just throwing that variable out there.

Thanks.

EDIT: More unexciting news. When I use fdisk to look for what my partition table could look like, I can't find /dev/sda. There's only /dev/sdb1 which is bootable, and /dev/sdc, which doesn't show a device, Boot, Start, End, Blocks, Id, or system. I don't know if that helps or hurts, but I'm confused.

Could it be that there isn't an /dev/sda for the grub-install command to find?

FormatSeize
August 3rd, 2011, 03:35 AM