PDA

View Full Version : Is there any good Scientific Calculator

jfreak_
August 1st, 2011, 03:57 PM
I am a post grad student and recently my (physical)calculator went bust. I was hunting for a good calculator in the repos but couldn't find one (And I don't have the 20$ to buy a new one) . :(
The features that I need are (ALL of the below)
3rd degree equation solver (4th degree would be nice)
Matrix operations ( Determinant, inverse, multiplication, etc )
Capabilty to type in multi-variable equations and to put in several values of x,y,z... and hence get several results.
Integrator (with limits , of course)
Memory for variables
remembering previous calculations
scientific constants built in (pi, boltzman, c, etc)
And the usual
inverse trigonometric , natural log, factorial , permutation and combination etc etc

Is there such a calculator? Or will I need to write one on my own (Shouldn't take long, few months if my research doesn't keep me too busy :popcorn:)

ssam
August 1st, 2011, 04:08 PM
using python with numpy/scipy on the command line will give you some of those.

next step up is something like sage http://www.sagemath.org/doc/index.html

could also have a look through https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuMath

Bandit
August 1st, 2011, 05:58 PM
Casio fx-115ES http://lh3.googleusercontent.com/public/-Jtsvur8JA4iPjucMDAyPBK7_eEfe3y0iEGzOU7xf8xm29cu-g6PfClfkMgC4O9_keomGycwrQzvMoWB5-w_y-QAFMw0skmwtnjbExHRTWTaMmoMe0cX0NXfNJScFrqn-ugjN5-4rUsjxuxjiBeW5bfrpaAaZIir_-hiUmfy

The best $12 buck calc you can buy. Does fractions, sqr route, X^ powers, variables, quadratic equations and more. Plus has natural display.
Unless your getting a TI-84 this is the best calc you can buy and is approved for the national engineering test.

I have been looking in the repos without any real luck. I know you said you didnt have 20 bucks.. but this is 12 at walmart..

jfreak_
August 1st, 2011, 06:13 PM
@Bandit: Thats exactly the one that went bust

sanderd17
August 1st, 2011, 06:21 PM