PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] RAID1 repartitioning help

packerac
August 1st, 2011, 02:55 PM
Hi there,

I am very new to Ubuntu. I am trying to set up a system which I will use as a game-server for me and my friends.

I just installed Ubuntu server edition to my computer (brand new, no OS) and finished installation. In the terminal I used apt-get ubuntu-desktop to install a desktop interface.

In my rig, I have two 500GB HDDs. I set them up through my computer BIOS as RAID1 drives, yet as I understand I still need to configure the Ubuntu software raid for it to work correctly. Unfortunately, I already partitioned my drives! :( I used the easy way (guided with LVM or whatever) and let it do it for me. Now, RAID1 is very important to me! Is there anyway to repartition the disks to use RAID1, or do I need to wipe my computer and reinstall Ubuntu? :confused:

PS: I was planning on following this to partition as RAID1: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/SoftwareRAID

Thank you so much for taking time to help a total linux newbie!

YesWeCan
August 2nd, 2011, 07:10 AM
Hi there and welcome to linux.
First, the RAID options in your bios should all be disabled. These are only for use with Windows. Linux RAID called mdadm does not need this.

It is possible to transform your existing install to RAID1. In fact, it is possible to do just about anything with linux, but it is a question of how complicated it is. For a newbie I would recommend starting from scratch and letting the alternate installer do all the hard work for you.

This is a guide for doing it the hard way: http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-set-up-software-raid1-on-a-running-system-incl-grub2-configuration-ubuntu-10.04