PDA

View Full Version : Login script

Majere79
July 31st, 2011, 07:50 PM
I would like to use a shell script to login to Cisco IOS devices. I have searched for, found, and tried several different things but nothing had worked out. This may be due to me being a complete novice when it comes to shell scripting.

Specifically, I want the script to log the user in, and then the user can interact with the IOS command line once the script is done with the login.

I am not sure if I should post the code, but I will if that is helpful.

Arndt
July 31st, 2011, 08:43 PM
I would like to use a shell script to login to Cisco IOS devices. I have searched for, found, and tried several different things but nothing had worked out. This may be due to me being a complete novice when it comes to shell scripting.

Specifically, I want the script to log the user in, and then the user can interact with the IOS command line once the script is done with the login.

I am not sure if I should post the code, but I will if that is helpful.

Either post the code (best in a reduced form that still exhibits the problem, if you can), or describe in more details what the problems are.

Majere79
July 31st, 2011, 08:57 PM
clear
echo "Connecting to 192.168.1.1"
ssh tsmith@192.168.1.1
expect "password:"
send -- "test123\r"

I get the ssh password prompt but then nothing happens.

fdrake
July 31st, 2011, 09:10 PM
clear
ssh tsmith@192.168.1.1
send -- "test123\r"

did you try

pass="test123\r"
ssh tsmith@192.168.1.1 < $pass ?

more help in here (http://nixcraft.com/shell-scripting/4489-ssh-passing-unix-login-passwords-through-shell-scripts.html)

Majere79
July 31st, 2011, 09:16 PM
Just tried it...and I get:

./testlogin.sh: line 4: test123\r: No such file or directory

fdrake
July 31st, 2011, 09:25 PM
cat > login.txt
192.168.1.1|tsmith|test123\r

cat > sshlogin.sh
#!/bin/bash
FILE=login.txt
CONNECT=sshlogin.exp
SERVERNAME=$1
MyServer=""
MyUser=""
MyPassword=""
exec 3<&0
exec 0<$FILE
while read line
do