PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Biostar motherboard help

rillwaney
July 29th, 2011, 12:14 AM
Hello all, I am new a brand new member and this is my first post. I just purchased a new setup consisting of the following, Biostar motherboard TH67+, Intel i5 2400, 4Gb Adata mem. I am trying to install 11.04 on this however I it is not going very smooth, things start off looking ok then I am greeted with this

BusyBox v1.17.1 (Ubuntu 1:1.17.1-10ubuntu1) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

(initramfs) Unable to find a medium containing a live file system

I am new to Ubuntu and to Linux all around, was hoping that with this new build out I would be able to put 11.04 on it instead of having to use Windows so I could learn and practice Linux. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hakunka-Matata
July 29th, 2011, 12:26 AM
Welcome to Ubuntu and the Forum;

Tell us a bit more:

Are you installing through windows (wubi) or booting the machine into Ubuntu?
what are you using to boot with? liveCD?, USB?

rillwaney
July 29th, 2011, 12:51 AM
Live CD. Forgot to include the system is using an ASUS dvd-rw drive. BIOS boot order is set to the 1. hard drive (WD black 500GB 6gbs) 2. ASUS dvd-rw drive.

Hakunka-Matata
July 29th, 2011, 01:08 AM
I'm a bit confused, if you are attempting to install Ubuntu via a liveCD, then you need to boot the computer into the liveCD. You know, first boot device = CD drive, with the liveCD inserted.

If you haven't backed up your windows installation, and you don't have recover discs, that would be the very first thing to do.

You can roll the dice a bit by attempting to boot into the liveCD, and then choosing "Try ubuntu witihout installing to hard disc", that will establish whether or not your 'latest greatest' motherboard is compatible, it's not listed in the Ubuntu Hardware Compatibility List, but that's not to say it won't work.

rillwaney
July 29th, 2011, 02:17 AM