PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] installing ubuntu by installer for windows

randompunk
July 28th, 2011, 07:13 PM
Hi Everyone,

I have used WUBI to install ubuntu to try it out and it is dual booting with Windows 7.

When I restart my laptop and choose to boot Ubuntu from the dual boot menu, it loads up and shows the desktop with the following error whilst installing:

No root file system is defined. Please correct this from the partitioning menu...

However, when I click to go into system settings then gparted I get another error:

Failed to run /usr/sbin/gparted as user root
Unable to copy the users Xauthorization file

I am totally new at this and was just intrigued to how Ubuntu runs.

I don't want to install it just yet until I have trialed it a little bit and when I have a system available that I can install it on.

Many thanks in advance for your help.

Lee

bcbc
July 28th, 2011, 08:20 PM
Usually the no root filesystem issue is caused by an unsupported raid setup or a mix of MBR and GPT partition tables or some other partition problem that Ubuntu is sensitive to (and not windows).

Please post the results from the bootinfoscript (http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/). That might show the problem. (you need an ubuntu cd/usb to do this - boot in 'live' mode i.e. boot from the cd/usb and select "Try it" without installing).

Typhaon
August 4th, 2011, 04:50 PM
Hello,

I'm having the same issue as the OP. Installing via Wubi gets the same error message. I have no problems booting from a USB drive I made though. Here's a copy of the bootinfoscript that was created. Ignore the date; that was done a few minutes ago, and I hadn't noticed that the USB boot hadn't updated time and date.

Boot Info Script 0.60 from 17 May 2011

============================= Boot Info Summary: ===============================

=> Windows is installed in the MBR of /dev/sda.
=> Syslinux MBR (4.04 and higher) is installed in the MBR of /dev/sdb.