PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 11.04 grub bootloader failed installation

sdalezman
July 26th, 2011, 05:39 PM
Hey I am a Linux noob and I am currently trying to install 11.04 on my Sony Z series. When I tried to install, I decided to go ahead and erase Windows 7 thinking it would be an easy install and because I was sick of windows. The installer crashes because the bootloader failed to install. This is the error that I receive "grub-install/dev/sda" failed this is a fatal error." But it also tells me "Installation has finished. You can continue testing Ubuntu now..." and allows me to restart or continue testing even though the installation failed. I know other people have had this problem, but I can't seem to find a solution that works. Thanks in advance for all the help!

Quackers
July 26th, 2011, 06:57 PM
Welcome to UF
Please boot from the Ubuntu Live cd/usb and select "try ubuntu" then when the desktop is loaded make sure you have an internet connection and go to the site below and download the boot script. This will give you a zip file which should be extracted in the same directory as it was downloaded. This produces a folder which contains the script and a changelog file.
You then need to cd to that directory in the terminal (for example
cd Downloads/boot_info_script060 if you downloaded it to your Downloads folder). You don't need to do that if you downloaded it to your home folder.
Then enter

sudo bash boot_info_script.sh

This will produce a results.txt file in the same directory as the downloaded boot script. Please copy the contents of that file and paste them in your next post between CODE tags. For CODE tags click on New Reply (not quick reply)and then click on the # symbol in the toolbar.
This will give a full overview of your current system.
Thanks.

http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/

sdalezman
July 26th, 2011, 07:32 PM
Boot Info Script 0.60 from 17 May 2011

============================= Boot Info Summary: ===============================