PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] BEWARE of links, etc.

eveg
July 26th, 2011, 02:25 AM
links are not the only way to get malicious code; please read the warnings posted by the forum administrators. [click on forum help, then forum faq. also try security discussions, in main support categories, right under absolute beginner talk.]
i realize this goes without saying to people who know much about computers, but in case you aren't aware, simply clicking on a harmless-looking link can let a cracker(malicious hacker) into your computer. i read a post recently by one of the forum administrators that mentioned there's been a problem here with malicious code.
most people here are probably good people who just want to help, but a few will be giving you 'solutions' to your computer problems that can make your problems much worse, in some cases without your ever knowing it. if you have any questions about what's been suggested, get a second opinion, or 3rd, or 4th...
one thing to look out for is anyone telling you to ignore an error message from your computer, that's a real red flag. and while some legitimate solutions to computer problems do involve turning your computer off and rebooting it, that is also a notorious necessary step in some sorts of cracking. if you have any suspicions about a post, i'd suggest you report the post and let someone official decide if it's malicious.

jtarin
July 26th, 2011, 02:46 AM
You might look at a persons number of post on the forum also.....while not a guarantee it does lend some veracity to their response.

eveg
July 26th, 2011, 02:53 AM
quite.