PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrade to Ubuntu 11.04

techtabu
July 25th, 2011, 12:50 PM
I am new to Ubuntu, So I end up in asking this questions. I have Ubuntu 10.10 installed inside windows as dual boot. Now 11.04 released, if I upgrade to 11.04 will it work as it works now? Or will it change any boot loader in Windows? Since I am using HP with Windows 7, I can't do parallel boot to maintain the warranty. Thanks in advance.

~!geek!~
July 25th, 2011, 01:28 PM
You installed ubuntu 10.10 after getting your system. So you have already made max changes that you had to have ubuntu. Now upgrading it to 11.04 will only write on the bootloader that previous version had already done on. So either you already lost your *warranty thing* you mentioned or you can't lose it by upgrading.

*The above statements are only logically correct to the extent I know, may differ in reality, So wait for some more replies as its about your warranty.*

Mark Phelps
July 25th, 2011, 03:46 PM
I am new to Ubuntu, So I end up in asking this questions. I have Ubuntu 10.10 installed inside windows as dual boot. Now 11.04 released, if I upgrade to 11.04 will it work as it works now? Or will it change any boot loader in Windows?
Since you said "inside", I'm presuming you installed using Wubi. It's generally a BAD idea to upgrade such installations to new Ubuntu versions. You would do better removing the installation you have and installing Ubuntu again from scratch.

Since I am using HP with Windows 7, I can't do parallel boot to maintain the warranty. Thanks in advance.
The interpretation of warranty "breakage" is almost entirely in the hands of the warranty provider, so no one can really say how they will interpret what you did.

But ... that said, since you installed Ubuntu the same way you would install any other application, for them to say that broke your warranty, would be no different from them saying that installing Firefox or Chrome broke your warranty.

techtabu