PDA

View Full Version : Can you place a protocol under the GPL?

ki4jgt
July 25th, 2011, 12:59 AM
Can you place a protocol that you've written under the GPL?

Here's the protocol you guys have been helping me with:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/smashindex/files/E3%20Protocol/E3%20Protocol.txt/download

I have placed it under the FDL. I don't want it totally locked down, but this should prove it to be my idea.

NovaAesa
July 25th, 2011, 01:10 AM
You don't really write protocols, you specify them. You write software that implements protocols. My understanding is that protocols aren't released under any licence at all (although some people that make protocols try to keep them secret). I'm not a lawyer though, so I could be wrong (I'm pretty sure I'm right though).

ki4jgt
July 25th, 2011, 01:15 AM
This was my understanding. The only problem was that I have actually written documentation on a protocol, I may place it under the free documentation license, but need it to remain consistent where ever it's used.

doas777
July 25th, 2011, 01:20 AM
depends on whether you are talking about a specification or a implementation.

for implementations, yes, for standards, mabey. see here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_standard

disabledaccount
July 25th, 2011, 12:19 PM
Of course You/I can.
Standards are open from definition - otherwise it's not standard. There are many organizations responsible for keeping consitency of thousants of standards, like IANA, IEEC, PCI-SIG etc.
Protocols however are different thing, and I would say that you can consider it the same thing as in case of closed/open source. Closed protocols can be safer at the beginning of usage, but it's much harder to keep them safe over time. Of course it depends what informations are carried trough and on what scale.

Dave_L
July 25th, 2011, 01:01 PM
You might be able to patent it. :neutral:

ki4jgt
July 25th, 2011, 01:21 PM
You might be able to patent it. :neutral: