PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Create Boot Disk from current Ubuntu 10.04 installation to avoid GRUB issue?

JSJSJS
July 24th, 2011, 07:17 PM
Hello,

I'm new to Ubuntu and have been searching and searching and haven't been able to find anything that solves my issues, so I hope for some help.

I upgraded from Ubuntu 9.x to 10.04 using the upgrade feature within Ubuntu. It worked great, but then I decided to do some stuff with partitions and thought I'd wipe it clean and start with a fresh install...that's where the trouble started. Any new Ubuntu CD I used just ended up with a weird screen that started with white and faded to black After several failed attempts with fixes when installing 10.04 directly from the .iso downloaded from Ubuntu, I instead reinstalled Ubuntu 9.x and upgraded using the upgrade manager (A painful process because I have such a slow internet connection and an old, slow computer). I'd like to be able to just have a CD that will allow me to re-install Ubuntu as it is currently configured on my machine. I have a Dell Inspiron 8000 and apparently there is some graphics card issue with the GRUB or something like that? So I assume my current GRUB in 10.04 is set appropriately for my system and I'd like to be able to use it for future re-installs.