PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with Ubuntu?

DoFlooterMoose
July 24th, 2011, 04:04 PM
Ok. I'm still fairly new to Linux, Ubuntu 10.10 to be specific. I migrated from Windows 7 about 6 months ago, and I love it! I'm not new to the idea of Linux though.

For the last few years I have established quite the Library of Linux distros. Never could figure out my fascination with them... but I couldn't stop downloading them. I have roughly around 60+ at the moment and still find myself downloading them. I have not tried them all (yet) as for some are a bit outdated now... but for the one's that I have, they all have features I like, as well as dislike. I think Ubuntu is a great distro! They all have their problems, every OS does.

Other than here, I really haven't had the opportunity to talk to other Linux users. Which I'm guessing most of you are Ubuntu users too, or at least have used it, and have working knowledge of it. Until recently. A chat site I chat on started a forum area. And I frequent the Computer and Technologies area quite often now. And have had many more interactions with Linux users. Even in real life. Guess its one of those things where you don't notice it until you have one yourself type things.

Anyways... the more Linux users I come across, other than on here, all, for the most part, talk crap on Ubuntu. They call me newb, which I am, but its one of those deals where if I was using say... Arch for example, or Debian, they more than likely wouldn't have said that. or they just trash talk Ubuntu in general. Yet Ubuntu is, as far as I can tell, the most popular distro out there right now.

So does it come down to "what ever is popular, we don't like" situation. Or as far as the Linux Distros go, is there something wrong with Ubuntu in comparison to the others? Cause if there is... I'm sure not seeing it.

your thoughts and ideas are much appreciated.

jeffathehutt
July 24th, 2011, 04:26 PM