PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Update Manager stalls in new Ubuntu v10.04 LTS OS

scruffyeagle
July 24th, 2011, 04:41 AM
I'm an old hand at Windows, but I'm new to Ubuntu - so, I've got a lot of learning to do. I just set up Ubuntu v10.04 LTS on a Toshiba Satellite A205 notebook. Currently using cable broadband access for internet. Installation seemed to go without a hitch. But, I've had problems with the Update Manager right from the start. It seems to hang, failing to complete whatever it's doing - and, not always at the same point. The most frequent point seems to be when it's going into its "checking" phase, looking for updates. That's what's happening at this very instant. I see the main Update Manager box greyed out, with a "Downloading Package Information" box above it. The active box is completely blank inside. No contents at all. It won't close by clicking the red button at top left, and I'm a little leery about trying to close it by menu-click on the label on the bottom bar. (Don't want to disrupt ongoing processes and cause broken whatevers.) Can anyone help with this? TIA! Adding extra info: I've booted this OS about 4 times so far, on 3 different days. Every other time I booted for the 1st time on a given day, the Update Manager automatically started checking for updates online; albeit, with a minute or two delay before starting to do its stuff. But today, it didn't automatically start. I'd come to the forums and read info re. firewalls, and decided I needed ufw w/ gufw. So, I used the Ubuntu Software Center. I found ufw marked as already installed. I found gufw, and installed it. I closed the USC window. That was the point at which I activated the Update Manager to check for software updates online - it started and hung almost immediately with that blank Downloading Package Information box. Which is the condition it's still in a half hour later. After 45(+) min. w/ no suggestions apprearing here, I rebooted using Ctl/Alt/Sysreq REISUB. That seemed t