PDA

View Full Version : Programming Language

Kutux
July 21st, 2011, 09:20 PM
Hi everybody!

I am a high school student and I think its time to learn a programming language . What do you suggest to improve myself?

Thank you.

Firecast
July 22nd, 2011, 02:20 PM
Obviously, the first language that a beginer must learn is C. Then my suggestion would be python mainly because it has diverse range of applications and the fact that its not too complicated.

Hope this helps..

MG&TL
July 22nd, 2011, 02:30 PM
I would suggest that is not absoluteley necessary to learn C-it is quite annoying at times and the error checking is not as good as it could be. I would suggest a derivative, such as C++ as this is more logical and is now something of a standard.

However, programming can be very daunting, and I would suggest the 'Processing' language-it has similarities to Java and C++, and produces quick, visible, graphical, interactive results, as well as setting you up to learn Java or C++. It exports Java applets, and the IDE is available for linux.

The IDE, tutorials, an exhibition, and example code can all be found here:

http://processing.org/

I've had a lot of fun with it, and even began to program games, although this was laborious, before I moved on to 'serious programming' with C++.

I'm not saying that C is not worth learning, but I would also say that I find it out of date, and C++ is faster growing, and I would say better supported.

JASONFUSARO
July 22nd, 2011, 02:41 PM
Probably it would be best starting out with basic, you wouldn't have to worry about trying to understand the compile process at first and you would get your feet wet with logic, syntax, structure, variable usage, then maybe C++, or fortran to experience the difference. Write some software in basic and then duplicate it in the other languages. All have a Hello World example do that in each.

I have used Visual Basic extensively, had Cobol, Fortran, C++, RPG, Assembler.