PDA

View Full Version : How long did it take you to get used to Linux your first time?

mnwolftrack
July 21st, 2011, 08:13 PM
Hello--I'm brand new to Linux as of yesterday, and my first experience is with Ubuntu 11.04 server.

How long did it take you get comfortable with Linux in general, from a server-management point of view (meaning not just any distro)? I'm quite used to managing a network of Windows desktops and servers, and had my Linux "humbling" experience yesterday when I attempted to install Ubuntu 11.04 server and realized that my previous Windows experience meant nothing--now that I have to unlearn everything I thought I knew and start over. As an example, I had no idea Ubuntu server edition was GUI-less, for starters. It's taken me a day and a half just to get 11.04 installed, Samba possibly installed, and I'm trying to connect with Webmin so I can have some sort of GUI interface for now (but it's not working due to access denied messages in my browser). All I want to do is set up this server as a file server, but I have to copy over 100,000+ files from the old Windows machine and have file permissions to deal with on all those files/folders for approximately 100 users.

My intent was to be able to start building and using Linux machines because I'm sick and tired of being a slave to Micorosoft, dealing with viruses, 9000 patches, over complexity, and all the licensing nonsense that goes on. Mind you, I wasn't expecting Linux to be a Windows clone (and yes I've read the "accidental troll post etc...), but this was such a 180 from what I am used to, I'm not even sure where to begin or verify if I am doing it right. I've only posted one other question on this forum thus far and haven't had a response yet (I'm quite familiar with using forums in general, just not a Linux-based one).