PDA

View Full Version : Programming Challenge

jramshu
July 21st, 2011, 05:14 AM
I know the first challenge is old to all you guys, but it is the first time I sat down and wrote, compiled and debugged anything that I didn't copy from a book, or the internet. It took me a little time getting it to compile right. I had several errors at first.

I have been reading books on C, and how it looks in assembly. The bigger picture they say. LOL, it's a brain full.

So, since I am a beginner at this, I figured I should start at the beginning and since the thread is closed I figured it may be ok to post a thread about it. Kind of exciting getting it to compile and run. It probably looks butchered to all you advanced folks, have mercy. LOL.

#include <stdio.h>

main()
{
int i;
i = 99;

for(i; i >= 2; i--)
printf("%d bottles of beer on the wall,\n%d bottles of beer,\ntake one down, pass it around,\n",i ,i);

if(i = 1);
printf("One bottle of beer on the wall,\none bottle of beer,\ntake it down, pass it around,\n");
if(i = 0);
printf("no more bottles of beer on the wall.\n");

return 0;
}

EDIT: Can't get it to line up right here, but is fine in editor.

EDIT: Added a part I missed in the song.

#include <stdio.h>

int main()
{
int i;
i = 99;
for(i; i >= 2; i--)
printf("\n%d bottles of beer on the wall,\n%d bottles of beer,\ntake one down, pass it around,\n%d bottles of beer on the wall.\n",i ,i, i-1);
if(i == 1);
printf("\nOne bottle of beer on the wall,\none bottle of beer,\ntake it down, pass it around,\n");
if(i == 0);
printf("\nNo more bottles of beer on the wall.\n");

return 0;
}

EDIT: Well crap, it's still a little off. It still show "1 bottles."
EDIT: I changed the bottom codes spacing so it would be easier to read in terminal, still got the "1 bottles" though.

robgraves
July 21st, 2011, 05:33 AM