PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need setup help.

ubantunewbie215
July 20th, 2011, 11:39 PM
Hi,

I'm looking for some help so I don't need more later.

So here is what I want to do.

1. Reinstall Vista from recovery partition(suck, but need to have access to it)

2. Partition about half of my 500gig drive. Can I do this during the installation of Vista?

3. Install Umbutu 11.04 on the partition that I set up.

I am new at all of this and just want to make sure both OS will work right, that I don't wipe the partition containing the windows recovery.

Thank you in advance for the help.

MG&TL
July 20th, 2011, 11:52 PM
1. Reinstall Vista <shudder> :D Being microsoft, it can be quite destructive to other OS's so install that over the entire hard drive first. I don't know precisely how to do this, but microsoft is quite user friendly and it should be OK. Once Vista is up and running, move on to next steps. (reboot several times with the vista install to make sure.)

2. Change BIOS to boot from cd first. You will need to look up how to do this on your system, it may be F2, F11, <shift> or another key to access it. Find some instructions online.

3. Burn Ubuntu cd.

4. Boot from the ubuntu cd, and select 'install'

5. Select 'install side-by-side'. I believe this will partition it roughly haf'n-half, some releases have a slider on the installer which allows you to pick the partitions.

6. Run installer.

7. When your system reboots, you will be presented with a menu that will look a little scary. Select the OS you want, (i.e ubuntu or vista, leave 'memtest' 'recovery' etc. alone)

You're done. :D

ubantunewbie215
July 21st, 2011, 12:20 AM
Thanks for that.

Just to clarify then....

When I reinstall Vista, allow it to use the whole hard drive? Then partition with Umbutu?

ubantunewbie215
July 21st, 2011, 12:24 AM

ubantunewbie215
July 21st, 2011, 12:25 AM
Nevermind, I got it now. Just need to finish backing things up.

MG&TL
July 21st, 2011, 12:35 AM